Hammond Furniture

CVA 1184-1988 - [Exterior view of Hammond Furniture warehouse and manufacturing facilities] 1940-48 Jack Lindsay photo.

CVA 1184-1988 – [Exterior view of Hammond Furniture warehouse and manufacturing facilities] 1940-48 Jack Lindsay photo.

The buildings that today house at least three businesses on the NW and NE corners of Clark at Venables were ones that I’ve wondered about each time I’ve gone past. This morning, as I was browsing through online photos of the City of Vancouver Archives, I was delighted to see a 1940s image of the familiar buildings which were then home to the warehouse and manufacturing facility (NW) and showroom (NE) of Hammond Furniture. Ernie Hammond was its head. Today, the NW building houses Russell Food Equipment and the NE corner is home to AquaPaws and Mr. Mattress.

It isn’t clear to me when Hammond Furniture closed, but it was a going concern in the 1940s and was advertising into the 1950s and ’60s. I was pleased to note (from the first image below) that furniture sold by Hammond in the 1940s – and perhaps manufactured as well – was very similar, if not identical, to some of that which my grandparents once owned!

CVA 1184-1986 - [Furniture display at Hammond Furniture] 1940-48 Jack Lindsay photo.

CVA 1184-1986 – [Furniture display at Hammond Furniture] 1940-48 Jack Lindsay photo. (Presumably, from the showroom building, on NE corner).

CVA 1184-1985 - [Woman cutting wood at Hammond Furniture] 1940-48 Jack Lindsay photo.

CVA 1184-1985 – [Woman cutting wood at Hammond Furniture] 1940-48 Jack Lindsay photo. (From NW corner manufacturing and warehouse building, I presume).

CVA 1184-1987 - [Man sewing cushions at Hammond Furniture] 1940-48 Jack Lindsay photo

CVA 1184-1987 – [Man sewing cushions at Hammond Furniture] 1940-48 Jack Lindsay photo.

This entry was posted in advertising, businesses, Jack Lindsay, yesterday & today and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hammond Furniture

  1. I just discovered your blog this morning. Lots of fascinating things to explore here! Thanks for putting in the considerable effort to share this material.

    The late Al Purdy, Canadian poet, worked for a few years at Vancouver Bedding, which was a subsidiary of Hammond Furniture, located in the same building. Purdy writes vividly about the mattress manufacturing process, and his Vancouver life in the early 1950s, in an excerpt from a memoir that may never have been published (uncertain about that). The excerpt is available online at the Books in Canada site: www dot booksincanada dot com slash article_view dot asp?id=2019

    • mdm says:

      Thanks much for your generous words re the blog. Thanks also for the tip about Purdy. I wasn’t aware that he’d worked at Vancouver Bedding nor that VB even existed.

      • I’m pretty sure the chest of drawers in the photograph above is the same model I owned for a while, but sold on Craigslist a couple of years ago. I bought the piece at the Sellution on Main. It had “Hammond” stamped on the underside, but no location. I initially wondered if the Hammond Organ Company might have had a furniture division. I did some online research which is how I learned about the former Hammond Furniture on Clark, and discovered the Al Purdy piece. At the time, I think I assumed there was a much greater chance that the chest of drawers had been produced by Hammond Furniture rather than Hammond Organ, and I think the image above confirms that.

        I’m kind of sorry I let that piece of Vancouver history slip from my hands. Although I did inform the new owners of the local connection.

  2. kelly says:

    I’m looking for pictures or information for some Hammond furniture. I acquired a ‘low boy’ vanity on caster wheels + dresser and a chair. the tag on the back states “Hammond Furniture Co.” No. 729

    Any info on where to find history or year would be appreciated

Leave a Reply

